White Plains DWI Attorney
Don't accept your DWI charges, fight them
If you were recently arrested for
driving while intoxicated (DWI), you are urged to contact
White Plains DWI Lawyer, Robert Schuster. He has handled literally thousands of cases as a former
criminal defense lawyer, and he has received specialized training from experts at Harvard
University in negotiations. With an in-depth understanding of New York's
criminal justice system and how the state prosecutes DWI cases, he is
more than qualified to defend your DWI charges.
Driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance
is a crime. Your level of impairment will depend upon the amount of alcohol
you drink, the amount of food you eat just before drinking or while drinking,
the rate of consumption, your weight, and whether you are male or female.
Penalties for DWI in New York State
Driving While Intoxicated or DWAI-Drug – Punishable by $500 - $1,000 in fines, up to one year in jail, and license
revocation for at least six months. For DWAI-Dug – license suspension
for at least six months.
Second DWI/DWAI-Drug violation within 10 years – E felony, punishable by $1,000 - $5,000 in fines, a maximum jail term of
4 years, and license revocation for at least one year.
Third DWI/DWAI-Drug violation within 10 years – D felony, punishable by $2,000 - $10,000 in fines, a maximum jail sentence
of 7 years, and a license revocation for at least one year.
Aggravated DWI (.18 BAC or higher) – Punishable by $1,000 - $2,500 in fines, a maximum jail term of one year,
and license revocation for at least one year.
Additional Penalties Imposed
Surcharges are added to alcohol-related misdemeanors and felonies. They
typically range around $260 for misdemeanors and $400 for felonies, but
the amounts vary slightly depending upon the court.
If a driver has three or more alcohol or drug-related convictions or refusals
within a 10 year time period, they will receive a minimum 18-month revocation
if they are convicted of DWI, DWAI/Drugs or DWAI/Combination. Additionally,
if a driver has a prior DWI,
Aggravated DWI, DWAI/Drugs or DWAI/Combination within the prior 10 years, he or she will
receive a minimum 18-month license revocation.
Contact The Law Offices of Robert Schuster
If you were arrested on DWI charges, you should contact Attorney Robert
Schuster. With experience as a former prosecutor and having handled thousands
of criminal cases, he has a firm grasp of New York's DWI laws and
will know which defenses would apply to your particular case. You are
innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, let Attorney Schuster
utilize his knowledge and experience to fight your DWI charges.
The Law Offices of Robert Schuster today to have a free telephone consultation with Attorney Schuster.