DWI Penalties in Westchester
Ignition Interlock Devices for New York DWI Offenders
A recent development in
New York DWI law is the implementation of mandatory ignition interlock device (IID)
installation and use for anyone convicted of driving while intoxicated.
The IID is essentially a breathalyzer which is wired into the ignition
system. It requires the driver to provide a clean breath sample before
starting the car, as well as at random intervals while driving. A failed
test will immobilize the vehicle, and the device may be configured to
cause the horn to honk and the lights to flash in order to alert law enforcement.
Furthermore, the failed test will be reported to the authorities.
Ignition interlock device use is normally required for six months, and
you will have to install an IID in your own vehicle and any others which
you will be driving. To better avoid these penalties, get in touch with
Westchester DWI attorney, Robert Schuster. With a
95% success rate at trial and accolades such as being named a Top 10 DWI lawyer in New York by the
American Insitute of DWI Attorneys, he is ready to fight for you.
Specific DWI Penalties for Licensed Professionals
Westchester DWI Attorney Robert Schuster has become the go-to name in DWI
defense for licensed and accredited professionals. When someone is convicted
of a DWI or another serious crime, accrediting and licensing administrations
may decide to revoke or suspend professional licenses as well, effectively
taking away the individual’s ability to find employment and gain
an income. Furthermore, simply being accused of a DWI can destroy someone’s
professional reputation, making it incredibly difficult to work with new
or returning clients. Attorney Schuster fully understands just how much
is on the line and packs even more power into his defense cases to clear
his professional clients’ names and defeat their charges.
Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- 1 year in jail
- Driver's license suspension lasting at least 6 months
- Up to $5,000 in fines
- 4 years in prison
- Minimum license revocation of 12 months
- Up to $10,000 in fines
- 7 years in prison
- License revocation lasting at least 12 months
Penalties for Aggravated DWI in Westchester County
The penalties for an
aggravated DWI offense are generally the same as for a normal DWI, with the difference
that the maximum fine for a first offense is more than doubled to $2,500,
and the minimum driver's license suspensions are increased by six months.
In addition to the criminal penalties which the state provides for drinking
and driving, you can also expect to see your insurance rates increase
dramatically, since the insurance company will now view you as being more
at risk of causing an accident. Further, you will have a conviction on
your criminal record, a fact which can make you ineligible for employment
with certain companies.
The most effective action you can take to avoid the penalties you face
is to contact a Westchester criminal defense lawyer as early as possible
after your arrest to discuss the situation and begin working on a strategy
for fighting the charges.
Attorney Robert Schuster has never lost a DWI trial and is recognized by the NAFDD as one of the top 100 DWI attorneys in
New York. You can trust him to provide the solid defense that you deserve.
Speak to a member of The Law Offices of Robert Schuster now for your free initial telephone