Email Us Today

How Can We Help?

Quick Contact Form

Send My Info

Blog Posts in August, 2013

  • New York State legislators are working to pass a bill so the public can have easy access to information regarding those convicted of violent crimes. This proposed bill will likely be called Brittany's Law after 12-year-old Brittany Passalacqua. Both she and her mother were murdered by Brittany's ex-boyfriend after his release from prison in 2009. He was a convicted violent felon who had ...
    Continue Reading
  • A federal judge has ruled New York's "Stop and Frisk" law unconstitutional. The Stop and Frisk policy is when a New York City police officer will stop a person if the officer suspects that person is in the process of (or may soon be) committing a crime. The policy permitted pat downs if law enforcement felt as if they were in danger. Mayor Bloomberg has said that this policy is the ...
    Continue Reading
  • Amendments to the New York SAFE Act

    || 16-Aug-2013

    The SAFE Act was written and signed into law in January 2013. As of that time, there have been some amendments to the New York SAFE Act : The original law stated that magazines may only hold seven rounds and that no one may possess pre-1994 high-capacity magazines. The amendment states that you may now purchase magazines that can hold up to 10 rounds. You may only hold 7 rounds inside your 10 ...
    Continue Reading
  • New York's Zero Tolerance Law

    || 11-Aug-2013

    The "Zero Tolerance" law applies to drivers who are under 21-years-old and who have been found to have been driving with a BAC of.02% or more but no more than.07%. Even though the law is called "zero tolerance," the minimum BAC is.02 and not 0. This is because the law takes into account that some cough syrups and mouthwashes contain a small amount of alcohol. In addition, some ...
    Continue Reading
  • Governor Andrew Cuomo has signed legislation creating stiffer penalties for those being found guilty of texting-while-driving. This new legislation is being aimed at younger drivers and new drivers: The fine for a first offense will be $150 The fine for a second offense will be $200 if you've committed a second offense within 18-months; A fine for a third offense (if it occurs within ...
    Continue Reading
  • Buffalo, NY is the most recent locality to adopt "ban the box" legislation. Although originally purported to become enacted on May 28, 2013, the City Common Council had created an amendment making it a law on January 1, 2014. This ordinance will amend a city code which prohibited vendors and employers located within the city from inquiring about an applicant's prior criminal ...
    Continue Reading
  • Legislation Signed Strengthens Leandra's Law

    || 1-Aug-2013

    Legislation signed by Governor Cuomo on Tuesday is strengthening Leandra's Law which will include a stronger regulation regarding mandatory installation ignition interlock on vehicles that those convicted of DWI either have access to or own. The new strengthening in the regulations will prevent those convicted of DWI avoiding the installation of an ignition interlock by claiming they no longer ...
    Continue Reading